Fancy Schmancy Statement Wall

If you happen to have a photographic memory, or if you’ve been following this blog stalkerishly close (you know who you are), you may have noticed the lack of photos of the wall between my kitchen & dining room.  This was intentional due the high levels of hatred I had for this wall.  It was a plain, boring, & mustardy yellow with a console table that never seemed properly styled, and a cutout window into the kitchen (thank you, 1970’s), but oh, the potential!

And at last, that all has changed, my lovely readers, and I can’t tell you how excited I am to share it with you.  This project has been going on for a few weeks now, and it all started when I got the crazy idea that I would wallpaper this area into statement-wall status.  Yes, you heard me right: Wallpaper.  Apparently wallpaper is back in now that they make a self-adhesive, easily removable version of the traditional product we’ve all grown to dread.  And browsing through all of these new styles, I fell in love with exactly 200 different ones.

Anthropologie, for example, has dozens of gorgeous designs:

But unfortunately, all of the wallpapers I was considering have one major thing in common- the outrageous price tag.  I just couldn’t justify spending hundreds of dollars, no matter how adorable those little black & white lemurs are, so I scoured Pinterest for some ideas and came up with Plan B.

And because ideas don’t usually happen in a vacuum, this stenciling project by Hello Gorgeous was my inspiration.

Here are the materials I used:

  • Flat/ Matte White Paint (I did not save the paint name even though I still need to do a second coat in the entry way (big sad face), so unfortunately I can’t tell you the shade at this time.  But it was white & from Behr.
  • Mandala Stencil from Hobby Lobby
  • Benjamin Moore- Pearlescent Paint
  • Loads of painter’s tape
  • A level & a paintbrush

Before we get started on the how-to’s, let me show you the Before’s:

Not awful, but also nothing special (except, of course, for the wild west picture of Ron and I that I relocated to an even better spot ;P  ).

So on with the instructions…

Step 1: I moved everything out of the way and painted the wall Matte White, 2 coats.

Step 2: I leveled the stencil and used painter’s tape to hang it on the wall.  Then I marked each side with an additional piece of tape to make it easier to line up the second one.

DSCN1696 copy.jpg

Step 3: I used a small paintbrush that had previously been ruined to dry-brush the pearlescent paint.  It’s good to flatten the stencil to the wall as you go, and get the paintbrush as dry as possible so that the paint doesn’t seep through.  It’s better to do multiple thin layers.

Step 4: remove the stencil and line up the side with the painter’s tape.  Repeat steps 1-3 until you’ve covered the whole wall.

It was a lot of work, but I could not be happier with the way this project turned out.  It’s subtle and sophisticated, and I could probably get away with telling everyone I spent $400 on wallpaper.

– The Reveal –

DSCN1711
Don’t worry, my orchid is not dying- it has buds!

DSCN1720DSCN1722

You may have noticed one other thing…  the house was in dire need of a focal point, and my western photo looked out of place on the new wall.  I ended up scoring this Centerfoil Mirror for $39 during an “I’m-Only-Here-To-Buy-Sunglasses” trip to Target this morning.  I love it so much, I keep staring at it for long periods of time until Ron asks me if I’m ok.

Anyway, the total cost of this project came in under $100, including the mirror.

If anyone needs a stenciled wall, hit me up!  I have all the supplies.  If you decide to try this project on your own, please share by sending me an email.

And last but not least, if you like this post and want to see more, please subscribe with your email for periodic updates.  -Your email address will never be shared.-

3 comments

Leave a Reply

