Sea Salt in the Kitchen

Ok my Sea Salt lovers.  You have been heard loud and clear, and this is your moment.

In case you have no idea what I’m talking about, last week I took a paint color poll, and essentially left it up to readers to choose a paint color for the condo.  Because I’m crazy apparently.  And then the Sea Salters basically went wild [slight exaggeration] on Facebook.  The poll tells me there were a lot of less-vocal Aloof Gray lovers as well, and we ended up fighting to the bitter end coming in at a tie.

Repose Gray was clearly the loser, although in the midst of the polling it occurred to me that by having two gray samples, and only one green/blue, I was probably pitting the gray votes against each other. Bad!

Here are the results as of now:

Screen Shot 2017-04-09 at 11.04.06 AM.png

All sarcasm aside, I’m so excited about the feedback that I got, and just want to give everyone that voted a big virtual hug.  I had a few people tell me that Aloof (or even all 3 colors) are too dark, which I definitely appreciate.  I love my dark gray bedroom, but I want to keep the majority of the house, especially the larger “community” rooms lighter and airy.

I’m a gray lover through and through, and although I had some worry that Sea Salt would be too green, I decided to go for it anyway.  This week’s kitchen fiasco (I’ll catch you up in a later post) was clearly a sign that I should start there, and get a feel for how the color looks in my house.  And you guys were SO right.  It looks flippin’ amazing, and not too green at all.  It’s actually more of a blue tone.  But it’s so subtle and calm, and it makes me glow with happiness every time I walk into the kitchen.  Thanks, guys!

Here’s a breakdown for you:

  • Time:  About 2 hours to paint
  • Cost: $7-ish for paint + $3 for new caulking.  I used roughly 3/4 of the paint sample from Sherwin Williams, which is about a quart, but for some reason way cheaper than what they sell the quart for.
  • Method:  I moved the fridge and stove to paint around them, but left the areas behind them unpainted because: lazy.  Why waste paint?  I rarely use painter’s tape, and was able to “cut in” around the cabinets and counters.  If you have a steady hand, this is definitely a preferred method as it leaves a cleaner line, and is faster and easier.

Here’s a reminder of what the kitchen looked like before:

…and here’s a picture of Dexter looking totally jeal that I got to climb on the counters, which is something he gets in trouble for:

DSCN1542.JPG

The Reveal

DSCN1560
So fresh, so clean
DSCN1556
How cute are those copper-top jars from TJ Maxx?
DSCN1573
I hung a few of my paintings above the sink
DSCN1566
This little wall houses our wine & hot sauce collection

DSCN1570

Well?  What do you guys think?  Was the Sea Salt everything you were dreaming of?

If you want to stay in the loop with all RAD House happenings, please take a moment to subscribe to my blog with the button (top, right on computers; below on mobile phones).  You will only receive an email when I create a new post, and your email address will never be shared.  See you on the flip side!

One comment

Leave a Reply

