Pull up a Chair

Do you have things on your to-do list that just feel like they’ve been there forever and keep getting overlooked for bigger projects?  Probably everyone does, and I am no exception.  Trust me when I say those things feel so much better to cross off the list than the newbies.  Enter stage right: dining room chairs.

dscn1228a

I have had these chairs for years, and I love them!  My mom found them at a garage sale for practically nothing ($5 each?), and gifted them to Ronn and I when we first moved in together seven years ago.  I’m pretty sure they’re antiques, but I can’t find a date anywhere on them, so we’ll just have to wonder.

Anyway, as much as I love these adorable wooden chairs, the maroon floral cushions have never quite felt like my style, and after accidentally spattering paint on them during my last project, I decided it was high time to give them a little makeover.  So I scoured the internet for some fabric, and finally came across this Royal Blue Suede Microsuede on Amazon.  It reminded me of the chairs at our summer vacation cottage on the Cape, so I forked over the $9 and bought a yard.

So here’s the tutorial for this budget-friendly, 5 minute makeover.

Supplies needed:

dscn1230a
Scissors, Fabric (1 yard was enough to cover 5 chairs), Staple Gun

Step 1: Lay out the fabric nice-side-down.  Remove cushions from chairs, and lay them upside down on the fabric.

dscn1240a
Dexter always has to help

Step 2: Cut just enough fabric to pull over the cushion on each side.  Staple about 1″ apart on one side.  Then repeat on the opposite side, making sure to pull the fabric tight.

DSCN1243a.jpg

Step 3: Carefully fold over edges and staple the 2 remaining sides.

dscn1244a
Fold like this & staple where my thumb is

Step 4: Point your wand and shout “Avada Kedavra!”  (Oh wait, no that’s something else…)

dscn1252a

dscn1251a
And there you have it: gorgeous, updated, contemporary chairs!

Oh, and one more thing!  (A bonus for you for waiting four days since my last post?) I repotted my Fiddleleaf Fig Tree.  It was becoming root-bound, and I was getting tired of the ugly plastic planter it was in.  Homegoods had these ones on sale for $16, and he seems very happy in his new home.

dscn1245a

One comment

Leave a Reply

